shannonlearnskorean

Just another WordPress.com site

Korean Store Haul and Korean Conversation! 24/12/2010

Filed under: Food!,Korean with Koreans — Shannon @ 2:55 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I went on another Kancho and snacks run and ended up actually (semi) conversing with the store owner! As I entered, I said “안녕하셔요!” and at first, he said “hello” in English. After he heard me greet him in Korean, he did the same. As I brought my purchases to the counter, he rang them in and told me the total…IN KOREAN! I couldn’t believe he was conversing with me as if I knew Korean! I handed him the money, said “감사함니다” to which he said the same. I then said “안녀ㅇ히겨세요!”, he said “안녕히가세요!” plus a couple other things I didn’t understand. I smiled, bowed and said “안녕히겨세요” again and left, elated inside that I had just endured my first Korean conversation🙂 So much fun. I’m definitely going to brush up on other phrases for next time to have a real conversation. I wanted to ask “어꽇게지내세요?” (How are you?) but I was afraid that he would start saying a bunch of things I didn’t understand. Next time… lol. I’ll have to practice “Sorry, I don’t understand what that means”…just in case😛

Now for the haul! Not a *huge* haul, mind you, because this is a very small, privately owned convenience store.  But I love their snacks🙂 On that note, I need to visit an H-Mart. There is one in my state but its almost 2 hours away:/ I could order online and its only $9 for shipping up to $150 which is a fair price but I really want to see the inside of one so I might make that trip after the holidays, for a proper haul😛 Here is my mini-haul from today!

Choco boy! These look good🙂

Korebap Crackers. Not entirely sure what these are...

Close up of the flavor of the Korebap crackers. I tried translating but I still can't tell:/

Yummy Kancho again🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So the ingredients on the Korebap (고래밥) cracker box say they have seaweed in them but there is a picture (the 3rd pic posted above) that shows a dinner plate with veggies and a piece of meat, so I am assuming these have a meat flavor. Trouble is, I can’t tell what it is. I tried translating “볶음양념맛” and I keep getting “flavored roasted seasoning” which doesn’t help too  much😛 If anyone is reading this and knows what that says, please tell me! I tried googling the product and all I can find is seaweed flavored, shrimp, and chicken flavored and none of them look like that.

I won’t actually be finding out what these taste like until December because I bought them as Christmas gifts to myself so they are wrapped and under my tree. I will definitely report back then!

 

 

Leave a Reply

