shannonlearnskorean

Just another WordPress.com site

목요일 이다 16/12/2010

Filed under: Fun with 한글,Ramblings — Shannon @ 6:25 pm
Tags: ,

Sorry, just trying out my days-of-the-week vocab. Also, its fun to write in 한글🙂 I seriously find myself looking for excuses to use it- I’ve always been fascinated by the way it looks.  It’s twice as fun now that I can actually write it lol.

So, I’m thinking that I need a dictionary and a book written in Korean. My local library has a children’s book called “The Rabbit’s Judgement” that is bilingual, so I think I am going to check that out today. It would be better of course if it were only in Korean but this will have to do for now.

I’m mainly using the methods praised by my favorite bloggers, like Khatzumoto (www.ajatt.com – All Japanese All The Time- link to this site is on my Blog Roll ) and others (but I really only follow him🙂 ) and I’m trying to learn the language in the most basic way possible- like a child. I highly suggest checking his site out, even if you aren’t learning Japanese, because much of the information is helpful for other languages as well. He taught himself Japanese in just 18 months with no classes or textbooks- just listening to Japanese media, watching Japanese shows and movies, reading as much Japanese material as he could get his hands on and practicing his Japanese with native speakers; so basically immersing himself in the Japanese culture. Now he is completely fluent and doing the same thing, but to learn Cantonese.

This isn’t supposed to be a plug of his site, lol- I just have so much respect for him and I think its really inspiring to think that I could be fluent in Korean in under 2 years🙂

I’m watching the movies and K-dramas, I’m listening to the music (Big Bang and SuperJunior FTW!), and I’m practicing my writing (now I just need a native speaker to converse with…) and now its time to practice my reading and build my vocab🙂

So anyway, back to my original point, I need to find a good English-Korean dictionary. The free ones online are useless and frustrating to use so I might need to pony up the money and invest in my own. My library doesn’t have Korean dictionaries so boo😦 I’m definitely stopping by there today to check out some Korean (/English😦 ) books though and get my 한글 on😛

 

Leave a Reply

