shannonlearnskorean

Just another WordPress.com site

한글 and other things 15/12/2010

Filed under: Fun with 한글 — Shannon @ 10:26 pm
Tags: ,

Its really amazing how simple the Hangul (한글) alphabet is. I’ve only been learning it for maybe a couple hours combined and I know consider myself rather fluent in it. Of course, I only understand a handful of words and phrases but I can effectively pronounce any word. There are a few characters that are a little more difficult than others; is a good example. is one of those characters that is used to form a lot of foreign words and it is a sound that isn’t really represented in the English language- almost like the rolling “r” in Spanish. At the beginning of the word, it is said to take on the sound of the foreign word, which is all fine and dandy if you know WHAT word it is supposed to be. Other sources I have found say that it is usually pronounced as “r” at the beginning of a word and as “l” at the end. In some instances, it is pronounced as a “d” sound in the middle of a word, and of course, if you have ㄹㄹin the middle of a word, they form an “l” sound. So that is quite confusing to me, to say the least. In fact, if anyone can further help me on that matter, it would be highly appreciated.

So I didn’t end up watching 분신사바 last night. I was too busy tweaking this blog but I’m about to watch it. I want to have it mailed back to Netflix by tomorrow so they will send me my first disc of “Be Strong, Geum-soon!” I’ve only seen clips of it on youtube so I’m super excited to get my first disc. I’m starting from the beginning and going through all 4 seasons, disc by disc.  I figure I can get through 1 disc per day, send it back the next day and get the next one within 2 days. So basically 4 days per disc so I can get through roughly 1 season a month (there are 7 discs in each season). I will be sure to keep everyone updated on my thoughts on this k-drama.

I’m sure I’ll update at least one more time today. For now, I’m off to watch 분신사바!

 

Leave a Reply

